Final Fantasy XI Online: 2007 Edition - Xbox 360

Got packs, screens, info?
Final Fantasy XI Online: 2007 Edition (Xbox 360)
Viewed: 3D Third-person, floating camera Genre:
Adventure: Role Playing
Media: DVD Arcade origin:No
Developer: Square Enix Soft. Co.: Square Enix
Publishers: Square Enix (GB)
Released: 21 Dec 2007 (GB)
Ratings: PEGI 12+
Connectivity: Live Online Enabled
Accessories: Hard Disk Drive


At the time of its original appearance on 360 in 2006, Final Fantasy XI was the first massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) available for the console. Thanks to the PlayOnline facility, you can join PC and PS2 gamers in the Final Fantasy universe. The 360 version combines PlayOnline and all three expansion packs for the title: Chains of Promathia, Rise of Zilart and Treasures of Aht Urhgan. These expansion packs contain 70 original areas, new jobs, mission scenarios, quests and items for gamers to experience.

The game is set in the mysterious world of Vana'diel, a place once bound by a peaceful alliance between nations, but now an evil force is threatening its very existence. It is up to you to restore order and fight the wicked forces. There will be countless missions, battles and quests for gamers to enjoy on their own or by teaming up with party members to create strong alliances as they get to grips with the vast land of Vana'diel. There are five very different races that you can choose from in Final Fantasy XI: Elvaan, Hume, Mithra, Galka and Tarutaru.

Treasures of Aht Urhgan has many new and key features. There are many new places for players to explore, including Mamook, Al Zahbi and Nashmau. You will also have to engage in conflict with never-seen-before monsters, such as Lamia beastmen, a powerful tribe called Mamool Ja, and the Merrow, which can live on land or in the sea. Another new element, especially for veteran fans, is the option to raise and look after your own chocobo. Two new game modes make a welcome debut on this expansion pack. 'Besieged' will let you defend your towns from the deadly beastman, while 'Assault' allows players who are past level 50 play missions immediately without having to partake in a long quest or assemble a large party.

It's all reassuringly familiar classic Square Enix, but Final Fantasy really looks like something else in high definition on the 360.

The Rise of Zilart expansion unlocks further areas containing new jobs and abilities, and Chains of Promathia grants access to even more areas featuring all-new monsters, quests and missions.