Final Fantasy XI Online: 2008 Edition - Xbox 360

Also known as: Final Fantasy XI Online: 2008 Edition

Got packs, screens, info?
Final Fantasy XI Online: 2008 Edition (Xbox 360)
Also for: PC
Viewed: 3D Third-person, floating camera Genre:
Adventure: Role Playing
Media: DVD Arcade origin:No
Developer: Square Enix Soft. Co.: Square Enix
Publishers: Square Enix (GB)
Released: 23 May 2008 (GB)
Ratings: PEGI 12+
Connectivity: Live Online Enabled
Accessories: Hard Disk Drive


Still in demand some four years on from its original appearance in Europe, Final Fantasy XI Online gets another release in another guise in May 2008, this time with four expansion packs thrown in.

Final Fantasy XI is set in the mysterious world of Vana'diel, a place once bound by a peaceful alliance between nations, but now an evil force is threatening its very existence. It is up to you to restore order and fight the wicked forces. There will be countless missions, battles and quests for gamers to enjoy on their own or by teaming up with party members to create strong alliances as they get to grips with the vast land of Vana'diel. There are five very different races that you can choose from in Final Fantasy XI: Elvaan, Hume, Mithra, Galka and Tarutaru.

The 'Treasures of Aht Urhgan' expansion has many new places for players to explore, including Mamook, Al Zahbi and Nashmau. You will also have to engage in conflict with never-seen-before monsters, such as Lamia beastmen, a powerful tribe called Mamool Ja, and the Merrow, which can live on land or in the sea. Another new element, especially for veteran fans, is the option to raise and look after your own Chocobo. Two new game modes make a welcome debut on this expansion pack. 'Besieged' will let you defend your towns from the deadly beastman, while 'Assault' allows players who are past level 50 play missions immediately without having to partake in a long quest or assemble a large party.

The 'Rise of the Zilart' expansion unlocks further areas containing new jobs and abilities. In 'The Wings of the Goddess', you can relive the tragedies and triumphs of the Crystal War, 20 years past. Finally, 'Chains of Promathia' grants access to even more areas featuring all-new monsters, quests and missions.